Stuart Tucker
2012-04-30T11:10:56Z
All,

Now that marinas have become so expensive to overnight in, we have started to anchor off more. Need a Windlass to save my back, but can't see how to fit one?

If anyone has a electrical windlass factory fitted (or other) to their 325/335, please could you post some photos of how it is fitted into your boat, also type / model of windlasse used and any details of the wiring that would be most helpful.

Do you think Bill Parker is still availible to advise?

Thanks

Stuart

Pegasus 325/37

geoff.sheddick
2012-04-30T17:00:53Z
Hi Stuart,

I'm no expert in electric windlasses but I know enough about the pitfalls of anchor windlasses, matching chain to gypsy, and in particular about 12v DC motor driven products & voltage drop, to strongly advise you to fully inform yourself of those pitfalls before you make any form of purchase decision, whether you choose DIY or professional installation.

Understanding the details of your installation is far more important than which brand of windlass you ultimately buy, and will greatly inform your purchase decision.

In my opinion an excellent starting point would be to invest in a copy of 3rd edition of Nigel Calder's "Boatowner's Mechanical and Electrical Manual" otherwise known by many as the "Boat Owner's Bible" [discounted on Amazon]. The 17 or so pages on windlasses will rapidly and concisely enlighten you in plain english and ensure that you do not fall into an elephant trap! And the rest of this tome will come in handy time after time in the future.

Your biggest single installation problems will almost result from the size of the electrical cables that you will require in terms of both routing them and crimping them, as they will need to be a similar size to your battery cables - if not theoretically bigger! Calder quotes cable sizes in AWG for his US readers, but provides a conversion table from AWG to sq mm & mm dia in his section on proper electrical installations.

Geoff Sheddick