Neil Sinclair
2006-11-28T08:16:00Z
I have been sailing a 28 for about 5 years, now. I have found that the boat likes to sail reasonably upright - if you press her hard, you get loads of weather helm, and the rudder looses grip and she rounds up whether you want to or not. I find this happens in winds about 15 knots, if you are flying full main and genoa. My reefing practice is to keep the full main and either roll a few turns in the genoa or change down to the working jib. This takes the pressure off and once more the boat is comfortably under control. If the wind increases up to about 17 knots, I take about 3 rolls in the main, which also has the desired effect. If the wind pipes up more, further rolls in the main give you lee helm, which makes for uncomfortable steering, so it is better to roll up the headsail a bit more ( I don't have a number 2 jib). In fact, my reefing tactics tend towards the headsail disappearing completely - which doesn't seem like a very efficient sailplan. I am thinking about fitting an inner forestay so that I could carry a small jib closer to the mast and thus keep the C of E aft while retaining efficiency. Looking through some old magazines though, I spotted some photos of old IOR racers with full genoa and reefed mainsails and suddenly wondered if I'd entirely missed the point! Should I be pressing my boat hard and keeping sail area well forward to combat weather helm?

Cheers! Neil

Neil Sinclair
Neil Sinclair
Seal 28/27
'Andiamo of Exe'
2006-12-04T18:09:00Z
hi neil
just browsing and noticed your messages.
i also sail a lot single handed although my boat is a 285 and i certainly echo your comments about using a blade jib...so easy to handle but i would just add the old principle about anticipation and good preparation being important when on your own.