Dennis
2009-08-07T11:16:23Z
I have just bought my Seal 28 and am trying to improve the sails and running rigging set up. I am new to sailing, this is my first boat, and I would welcome some advice on a couple of things:

1. The top guardrails at the bow are led down to the bottom of the pulpit rather than the top. I am told that this has been done to allow the foresail, which is very low in the foot, to unfurl without chafing over the guardrail, especially when close hauled. However, it compromises the protection provided by the guardrails at the bow and I am concerned about safety. I have been advised by a rigger that the best thing to do would be to have the luff of the foresail cut back by a foot or so, which would shorten it, allowing the foot to be raised up the furling foil, so that it could pass more easily over a top guardrail, and that this reduction in sail area would make little difference to performance. has anyone else had this problem?

2. I would like to introduce single line reefing and lead reefing lines,halyards etc back to the cockpit. Has anyone else done this, and what problems did they encounter? In particular, how and where did they mount the pulley blocks/deck organisers/clutches etc?

Dennis Sewell

Saphena Minor

Mike Edwards
2009-08-07T19:05:57Z
Dennis

Don't worry about the sail draping over the rail you see a lot of boats where this happens.

I have used D shackles with smooth screw heads so they don't catch on the sail.

Although if you do not intend to go racing, raising the foot would improve visibility.

I have arranged for all lines to come back to the cockpit on Aztec, there is a drawing of the arrangement on the Internet at the bottom of the page.

see http://www.swatchway.pwp.blueyo...k/aztec-photos/aztec.htm 

I dont think I have any photos but you can come and see how I achieved it if you want, Aztec is in Canvey, Essex. if you cant make it to Essex I could always take some photos.