NeilB
  • NeilB
  • Member Topic Starter
2012-03-10T08:12:23Z
Hi,

I was checking the keel yesterday and found that with the keel about 2/3rds down it can rock about 1/2inch. I'm new to Parkers so I wondered if anybody could tell me if that is normal? I can't fully lower it at this time because she is chocked up on stands. With the keel fully up it has only slight play when pushed through the access in the housing. The keel is lifted via a winch handle forward of the mast, and it raises and lowers very smoothly. Thanks

Regards

Neil

Alan Needham
2012-03-11T18:57:47Z
Hello Neil

I have my P21#8 up on axle stands at the moment and I concur there is quite a 'side to side' movement with the keel down. I also have noticed a fair amount of corrosion of the keel especially in the areas that joins onto the glassfibre 'infill' in the centre section of the keel, do you have this?

Also I have about 3ft of keel stciking out of boat which is approx what I though was maximum from the spec sheet but I still think there is more to come looking at the marks on the keel lift rope, if Geoff picks up this post perhaps he could advise or any other member who has drooped the keel.

thanks for the post Neil

Alan.
Geoff Harwood
2012-03-12T17:06:53Z
I had to swim underneath Cygnus with a tape measure for handicap purposes! The keel dropped 34 inches vertical or 37 inches on the slant. It also wobbled a bit on the way down but wedged in tight when fully down which I thought was good.

Geoff Harwood ex P21/30
NeilB
  • NeilB
  • Member Topic Starter
2012-03-13T08:52:52Z
Hi Alan/Geoff,