Gilliane Sills
2022-03-28T11:05:05Z
I'm posting this message for Richard Ayres, a new member. He's recently seen a Parker 275, and is v keen for advice. He says:

My main concern moving from a bilge keeler and in my home waters of S devon is how would the 275 take the ground? I now see that the bottom of the boat is pretty well flat, but with a little skeg to protect the prop. Until one is actually grounded it is often not possible to see what the substrate that the boat will sit on is like. Often there are rocks etc and my concern is about whether there is a risk of damaging the boat, and especially the skeg and propeller if one is unlucky with what you end up sitting on?

Also, do sand and stones sometimes get into the keel box and get it stuck?

I have no experience of lifting keel yachts and (since I saw the boat on my own, the owner has unfortunately passed away) I could not work out how to lift the keel. I could see a 12mm rope disappearing vertically down just forr'd of the mast, and a lighter rope also, but I could not get any movement of the keel (keel is down, boat been standing on a trailer for a long time). I assume that the lighter rope works a locking mechanism and then the 12mm sheet is winched from the cockpit - so perhaps this keel is simply stuck from lack of use?

Finally, the spec says that both main cabin seats can be used as bunks, but both seem too short - they are also very low (no cushions) but maybe I am missing something.

I can absolutely see the appeal of these boats, it is mostly the keel/grounding issue that is making me hesitate!

Delphine, Parker 275, no. 41
johniow
2022-03-28T12:54:26Z
Welcome to Richard from a fellow PSSA member - a good choice of yacht.

I'll only comment on what I know from my experience and what I've heard from other Parkers and Seals.