Jmaksy
2012-07-01T11:53:26Z
Hi all
Just to introduce myself.....

I've been boating for many years and have only ever had two boats my first was a motor boat which i had for 15 years with most of my boating in caernarfon bay. But i always wanted to sail and having taken early retirement sold the motor boat and stated looking for a sailing boat. Sailing can be a huge drain and choosing a yacht is daunting but i knew that i did not want to buy a yacht to learn to sail on only to find it as my experience grew It was lacking in the right quality and capability. A boat on a permanent mooring whilst a nice idea does limit your sailing experiences when learning to sail. Sailing on a lake is a great way to learn to sail but you do need the challenge of the sea especially if you've got sailing ambitions like mine !

So lots of research everywhere including this forum the choice came down to just two, very pricey but with a clear favourite. Then quite by chance Mary (who now refers herself as the 'other' woman) caught me dreaming over a boat advert and in a moment of weakness said 'if that's what you want why don't you go and look at it'. Twenty five years of marriage teaches you a thing or two especially the bit about 'before she has second thoughts' . And there i was looking at this beautiful yacht with all the quality and functionality a budding sailor could ever wish for. Thank you Paul for looking after her so well.

Two weeks later i brought home Lady Penelope.

Lady P , a 235 no.40 , has been a very frequent visitor to Lake Windermere teaching me how to sail and after Day Skipper i took the Yachtmaster theory and a few weeks ago found myself sailing in Gibraltar on a coastal skipper 'refresher' course on a beneteau 37. A bigger boat maybe but Lady P has taught me well just to prove how capable boat she is and this year I'm now planning to take her further afield both inland and seaway.